.
.  My Account . Help . Help
. -
.
Index.Search
. .
Account > Users
.
Modify | Delete | Inactivate/Activate             FAQs
.
User link dialogs: Demographic | Access Control
.
Schedule | Cost | Job Code | Proxy | Filter Sets
.
To create a new User:
.
1. Click on the "Account" tab.
.
2. Click on the "Create..." drop-down menu and select "user."
.
3a. Fill out all required fields in the "New user" (i.e., User > Demographic) dialog, including a User ID and Password for the new user (users can change their IDs and passwords later). For additional information on password security options, please see the section on Company security settings .
.
3b. You must also assign a role to the user. This role will determine the type and level of access the user will have throughout the account.
.
4. Fill out any optional fields in the "New user" (i.e., User > Demographic) dialog, including:
(a) Line manager for the user;
(b) Department;
(c) Cost center;
(d) Primary filter set;
(e) Approvers for items in various modules, such as timesheets, schedule requests, expenses, authorizations, purchases, proposals, booking requests. Options are:
   (e.1)Self-approver: Users can be designated to approve their own items.
   (e.2)Individual approvers:Other users can be designated to approve the user's items.
   (e.3)An approval process can be designated as the approver.
   (e.4)[Manager] and [Managerís manager]: Instead of specifying a particular person to approve or to participate in an approval process, the administrator can create a template for approval that varies with each user on the system. The [Manager] and [Managerís manager] approvals are available both for project-based approvals and final (user-based) approvals. In the case of project-based approvals, the [Manager] is the manager of the user who is the owner of the project. If [Manager] or [Manager's manager] is specified as approver and the designated user does not have a [Manager] selected, the approval is automatic. The [Manager] terminology is customizable in My Account > Company > Terminology.
(f) Whether user's approval setup should be the default approval setup for new users;
(g) Week starts on;
(h) Currency;
(i) Territory;
(j) Default hourly rate;
(k) Email, time and regional settings;
(l) Right to unapprove approved items;
(m) Dashboard options (Checkbox to "Display zero items on dashboard");
(n) Right to unapprove approved items for various modules;
(o) Display options;
(p) Filter sets. If your account uses filter sets, and if the user has rights to modify filter sets, there may be a dropdown to select the filter sets which include access to the user;
(q) Hierarchy. If your account uses hierarchies, if the hierarchy has "show this hierarchy when editing objects of this type" enabled, and if the user has rights to modify hierarchies, there may be a dropdown to select the node for the user.
.

.
5. Click on the "Save" button.
.
6. The new user is added to your Users list.
.
7. To set which modules the user will have access to, and which data exchange functions the user will be able to use, click on the ID of the user you just created, and then click on the "Access Control" link, and then on the specific type of access link (module access, exchange access).
.
8. Make your selections in one or more of the access control pick list dialogs, and then click on "Save."
.
9. To make changes to an individual user's work schedule, click on the user's ID, and then on the "Schedule" link. (The default settings are the same as your company work schedule.) Select the "User-specific work schedule" button, make your entries, and then click on "Save."
.
10. To add information about a user's job code, click on the user's ID, and then on the "Job Code" link. Enter the appropriate information, and then click on "Save."
.
11. To add information about a user's hourly loaded cost*, click on the user's ID, and then on the "Cost" link. Enter the appropriate information, and then click on "Save." (*"Hourly loaded cost" is what it costs your company to employ a user. Please click on the "Cost" link above for more information.)
.
12. To assign someone to act as a proxy for a user, click on the user's ID, and then on the "Proxy" link. Enter the appropriate information, and then click on "Save."
.
13. To assign filter sets to the user (thus restricting access to clients, projects, users, services and/or expense items), click on the users' ID, and then on the "Filter sets" link. Enter the appropriate information, and then click on "Save."
.
14. To return to your user list, click on the tabbed "Users" link.
up
To modify an existing User:
.
1. Click on the "Account" tab.
.
2. Click on the "Users" link.
.
3. Find the user name in the list and click on their User ID.
.
4. Click on the appropriate link(s)--"Demographic," "Access," "Schedule," "Cost," "Proxy," or "Filter sets."
.
5. Make your changes to the appropriate dialog, and click on "Save."
.
6. If necessary, click on another dialog link for that user, or to return to your user list, click on the tabbed "Users" link.
up
To delete a User:
.
Note: You cannot delete yourself, nor can you delete users who have recorded transactions in any OpenAir.com module; you can, however, remove them from your active user list, which prevents them from having further access to your OpenAir.com account. (See "
Disable" below.)
.
1. Click on the Account tab, and then on the "Users" link.
.
2. Click on the relevant User ID, and then on the "Demographic" link if you are not in the "Edit - [Name of user]" dialog.
.
3. Click on the "Delete" button in the "Edit - [Name of user]" dialog to permanently delete the name from the list.
.
Note: If the "Delete" button does not appear on the "Edit - [Name of user]" dialog, this means there are transactions assigned to that user. You can delete the user only by reassigning those transactions to a different user; however, for accounting and auditing purposes, it is recommended that you disable such users instead (see below).
up
To inactivate/activate a User:
.
Inactivating users will remove them from "active" status, which means they will be removed from your user list and their data can be filtered from any reports that you run. However, any transaction documents they may have created remain accessible. You can reverse the steps below to "activate" an inactive user at any time.
.
There are two ways to inactivate users. The best way to inactivate a single user is as follows:
.
1. Click on the Account tab.
.
2. Click on the "Users" link.
.
3. Find the user name in the list and click their on User ID. Click on the "Demographic" link if you are not in the "Edit - [Name of user]" dialog.
.
4. Remove the checkmark in the "Active" box in the "Edit - [Name of user]" dialog.
.
5. Click on the "Save" button.
.
The best way to inactivate multiple users is as follows:
.
1. Click on the Account tab.
.
2. Click on the "Users" link.
.
3. Check the box next to each users name you want to inactivate, and click the blue circular arrows icon at the top of the column of boxes.*
.
4. Check the "Make the selected users inactive" box and click "OK".
.
* Note: If the column of boxes does not appear, click the "Customize" link at the bottom of the screen, select "Run and action" from the Available Items list, click the green "Add highlighted items" arrow and click OK.
.
Index.Search