.
. Resources . Help . Help
. -
.
Index.Search
. .
The Projects Tab
.
The Projects tab is where you can organize your projects by dividing them into manageable phases and tasks, which can be plotted on a timeline
(Gantt view) and assigned to particular employees.
.
Note: Only users with access to the Projects tab and who have been given creation rights can create, edit, and assign projects, phases, and tasks.
.
Modify | Delete
.
To create a new project:
.
1. Click on the Projects tab.
.
2. Select "project" from the "Create..." drop-down menu. (Note: You can also select "project from another project" and "project from a proposal"; if you do so, you will get a special form that lets you copy phases, tasks, and assignments from another project or tasks from a proposal.)
.
3. Name your project.
.
4. Assign the project to a client.
.
5. Assign a user to be the project's owner (if desired).
.
6. If you have created locations (used primarily in the Resources module), you will have the option to select one of these locations for the project. When you run searches for resources assigned to tasks within the project, this location will be included in the search criteria.
.
7. Select the appropriate project stage, if you have created custom project stages.
.
8. Select the start date and enter the number of hours budgeted (if desired).
.
9. If you have enabled multi-currency functionality, select the currency in which you want the project to be tracked.
.
10. Select a monetary budget (if desired).
.
11. If you are using the project and vendor tax calculation method, enter the appropriate federal and state tax rates; if you are using the tax locations tax calculation method, select the default tax location for the project.
.
12. Enter note you wish to be displayed on all invoices, if appropriate.
.
13. Enter additional project notes, if appropriate.
.
14. If you want project owners to be notified when the owner is changed, check the "Notify project owner ..." box.
.
15. If you want users who are assigned to tasks associated with this project to be notified when such tasks are modified, added, or deleted, check the "Notify assigned users ..." box.
.
16. If you check the "Create associated workspace" box, a workspace with the same name as the project will be created. It will have a link to the new project. (This option is only available when creating a new project. It is not available when editing existing projects.)
.
17. If the project is active, check the "Active project" box
.
18. See Account > Projects for more details on setting up signers, project-based approvals, auto-billable options, and hierarchies.
.
19. Click on the "Save" button.
.
Note: If you have chosen to "Allow project over-ride of billing contact" Invoice Option in the Company Settings, you will be able to select a billing contact for this project when you edit the project.
.
Note: You can add custom fields to your Project dialogs by going to the My Account > Company > Custom Fields tab, and selecting "Custom Field" from the "Create..." drop-down menu.
up
To modify an existing Project:
.
Note: The "Edit project" dialog allows you to change *global* information about a Project (i.e. the information you entered when you first created the project). To make changes to a project's phases or tasks, see
modifying a phase, and modifying a task.
.
1. Click on the Projects tab.
.
2. Click on the Project name in the list, and then on the "Edit project" link.
.
3. Make your changes to the "Edit project" dialog.
.
4. Click on the "Save" button.
.
*Note: If you have chosen to "Allow project over-ride of billing contact" Invoice Option in the Company Settings, you will now be given the option of selecting a billing contact for this project.
.
Other Project links:
.
Edit task/phase | Outline view | Gantt view
Assignments | Team | Utilization | Billing
Revenue recognition | Analysis
up
To delete a project:
.
1. Click on the Projects tab.
.
2. Click on the project name in the list, and then on the "Edit project" link.
.
3. Click on the "Delete" button at the bottom of the "Edit project" dialog.

Note: the "Delete" button will not appear if the project:
a) has transactions assigned to it in any OpenAir service module (to delete the project, reassign those transactions, which can be done only if transactions have not been billed to a client);
b) has been associated with a hierarchy (to delete the project,
delete the associated Workspace); or
c) has been associated with a Workspace (to delete the project, modify the hierarchy by unassigning the project to a node).
In this case, the reasons the delete button does not appear are summarized in the tips at the bottom of the page.
.
*Note: Instead of deleting a project, you can make a project inactive by unchecking the "Active project" box in the "Edit project" dialog, and then clicking on "Save." This will permit you to filter out this project from your list of active projects, and the inactive project will no longer appear in any "Select..." drop-downs.
.
Index.Search